Time with Neighbors

Waaay back in March, one neighbor wanted to visit and look at all of my bread making appliances.  I thought it would be nice to make lunch for our families at the same time and invited another neighbor over as well.  Mrs. R said surprised, “Mrs. W. is interested in making her own bread?”  I said, “No.  Mrs. W.  just wants free bread.”

So…to earn her loaf of bread, we had Mrs. W. fix us a citrus drink.  Mmm…good.

The ingredients are:

  • 1 (10-ounce) bag frozen diced mango
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 2/3 cup tequila
  • 2 tablespoons Cointreau
  • 2 tablespoons superfine sugar
  • 2 cups ice water
Mix it all together in your fancy-dancy Vita-Mix.  This is the real reason Mrs.W. came by.  She wanted to make a drink in my red Vita-Mix.

It was really good and refreshing.   Mrs. W. made me promise not to tell when we actually had the drinks, so you can’t force me to tell.  I’m an awesome friend and keep secrets.  Most of the time.
After the drinks we started on lunch.  I got into my zone with demonstrating my bread baking appliances and I forgot to take pictures.  Oh well, at least I have some after shots. 
For lunch we made Ham/Cheese French Bread roll-up and Ruben French Bread roll-up, fruit and veggies.  

There were a total of six girls and one boy at the table.  Plus the three moms who were in very good moods, for some reason.
It was a fun day.  I always enjoy showing friends how they can make bread, using freshly ground wheat.  I also enjoy when the friends bring refreshments to share.  Thanks ladies for a fun morning!
7 responses to “Time with Neighbors

  1. Where is a tube of lipstick and under eye concealer when you need it? Ughhhh

    That drink was tasty. For those interested, I substituted orange juice for the water. I just like it better that way. Also, El Jimador is a great tequila and much cheaper than the pricier and more popular Patron.

    Those reubens were AMAZING! Now I am hungry. Thanks again for a fun day!

    • You’re beautiful. No need for lipstick or concealer. Thanks for letting us know what ingredients you used. I’d forgotten about the orange juice for the water. It was sooooo yummy!

  2. Fun! Drinking before lunch time!?! Is that a Florida thing??
    Your neighbors are lucky to have such a skilled instructor.

  3. I love Reubens! You’ll need to teach me how to make these things – so far I have all the equipment, just not the ingredients…you could bring your friends to recreate the event and you could snap all the pictures you wanted – just so long as I get a reuben…and an orange juice! ;0)
    You have too much fun in the kitchen.

  4. LOL…you know each time I get an email saying Applie has a new post, I smile…because I can always count on you! 🙂 I will not tell Mrs. W. that you told.

  5. How fun! How lucky you are to have good neighbors that make you special drinks. Lunch looks delicious too.

  6. I am coveting that Vitamix…and what you made in it!

Leave a Reply

