Meet Ernie

The newest member of my family.

This is Ernie Coli  a.k.a.  E. Coli  a.k.a  Escherichia coli.

This cute little thing was identified by a pediatrician named Theodor von Escherich, in 1885, which he called  Bacterium coli commune.  It was later named Escherichia coli.

It’s a rod shaped bacterium that likes to live with all its gazillion cousins in the  gut.  They like it there, its dark, moist, and warm.  The gut likes them there too, because E. Coli is a beneficial microorganisms.

Some E. coli are harmful, but I am pretty sure Ernie is not one of them.  He doesn’t look harmful, does he?

The long stringy things hanging down are the flagella that propel him around at top speed.   I am having a hard time keeping up with Ernie.  He is way too fast for me.  Right now he is sitting by the computer watching me.  I think Ernie will be my computer companion for a good while.

Thank you, Jared, for your thoughtful gift.  I love it!

10 responses to “Meet Ernie

  1. cindy schriver

    LOVE this 🙂 I want some e coli

  2. I love the boys expression…funny. You look really nice Michelle…hard to believe that you are 50. And that Ernie is a doll. Although I won’t be inviting him to dinner anytime soon.

  3. I love it! What a sweet gift for a Biology teacher. 🙂

  4. I love the picture of the gifter, gift, and giftee. Actually it is too funny for words. 🙂

  5. We love those! My daughter got an Ulcer a couple of years ago and she just loved it! I was thinking of giving my husband Salmonella for Fathers Day! Just kidding… Did you see they now have algae and amoeba? What a good mascot for biology! E. Coli, what a wonderful gift! 🙂

  6. I agree with Kristy – you look great. And Ernie is very cute.

    Still, though – you’re one of those Homeschooling Weirdos.

  7. Love this. I’ll have to look online and find something like this. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Dem Bones-Dem Bones | APPLIE'S PLACE

Leave a Reply

