Cupcakes for Science

Lately I have been looking around the web for halloween food for my science classes.  I don’t like having to search “halloween”, we as a family do not celebrate it.  So…I started searching for “gross food ideas”.   I’m not going to tell you what I found.  Let’s just say I quickly went back to halloween food.

Actually, I’m no longer going to call it halloween food.  It is now Science Food.  Yeah, that’s better.

Last year I made these cute little bats for my class.

And to make them more Science Food, I added bat guts.

Cute!!

As I am looking around for ideas this year, I came across Scrumptious Skeletons !  Since we were studying bones in Anatomy, I decided it was the perfect time to make them.

I threw these bones to my elementary class at 7:45 am.  Yep, the parents love me!  I used a boxed (gasp!!) cake mix and used milk instead of water and butter instead of oil.  Yummy!

Here are a few more things that I found that would be great science food.  Just click on the photo and it will take you to the site with the know-how. 🙂

Pearly Whites – Elementary Anatomy class.  Who wouldn’t smile over this and it is healthy!

Another great healthy treat for my Elementary class.   I might make this one at the end of the year.

Yummy Skeleton!

This next one I am looking forward to making for my Biology class.  When?  I’m not sure.  Maybe during the study of Biomes?

Swamp Juice!

Why wait for halloween when you can enjoy some gross food all year long?

The possibilities are endless!

Gummy worms for Biology during Earth Worm dissection.

You’ll be seeing more Science food on  here soon!

9 responses to “Cupcakes for Science

  1. Wonderfully creative use of ghoulish halloween icons with an educational spin! I particularly like the veggie bones and the bat guts! We might do owl pellets…I have some cute owl patterns! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. That last photo is just gross. And I read the directions and what a pain to get all those worms out of the straws.

    I want to be in your biology class.

  3. Those worms are so unbelievably realistic, it’s amazing.

    I will be shipping my kids over to you when they are old enough for all this grossness.

  4. Those are really cool. I might have to teach a class just so I can do this stuff. LOL
    I liked the brain that was on the same page as the worms, too.

  5. Love the veggie skeleton! DS1 has to take a healthy snack to his Wellness class, later this month and I think you just gave me the perfect idea. Thx, Buddy.

  6. Cupcakes were yummy!! :O)

  7. Your cupcakes look great!!!

  8. LOVE the veggie bones!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

