A Tuesday Meal

I bought a huge turkey breast just for this recipe.  It looked so yummy in the photo and so easy to make.

Source:  allrecipes.com

One problem.   It calls for one envelope dry onion soup mix, which we cannot have.  It didn’t take me long to find a recipe to make my own.  Again, one problem.  Calls for beef bouillon powder.  We cannot have that either.  Sooo, what to do…

I make the Onion Soup Mix minus the beef bouillon.  Source:  Food.com

    • 3/4 cup instant minced onion
    • 1/3 cup beef bouillon powder
    • 4 teaspoons onion powder
    • 1/4 teaspoon crushed celery seed
    • 1/4 teaspoon sugar

Combine all ingredients and store in an airtight container.
About 5 tablespoons of mix are equal to 1 1¼-ounce package.

Then I prepared the turkey breast according to the recipe.  Easy-peasy!

Crockpot Turkey

Ingredients

    • 1 (6 pound) bone-in turkey breast
    • 6 TB of the above onion soup mix
    • 1 TB of beef broth (all natural)

Rinse the turkey breast and pat dry (I didn’t pat dry). Cut off any excess skin, but leave the skin covering the breast. Rub onion soup mix all over outside of the turkey and under the skin. Place in a slow cooker. Cover, and cook on High for 1 hour, then set to Low, and cook for 7 hours.

Served with:  Left over rice, gravy from the turkey, and raw veggies.

Verdict:

  • Me:  Way easy to make.  We got home later than expected so the turkey breast was a little dry.  I liked it and will make again.
  • Husband:  He liked it and wants it again, but served on time.  lol
  • The Violinist and Pea #1 liked it served with BBQ sauce.
  • Pea #2 liked it a little.
  • The Son:  Never touched it.
There was plenty left over for another meal, but no one ate it and I threw it out. Next time I’ll be better prepared for a second meal.  Turkey pot pie, or turkey salad.  Neither of which the kids will eat.  Oh, who cares. 
I want this for my kitchen.  You can find it at ARTworks.
6 responses to “A Tuesday Meal

  1. Is it sir son that can not eat so many ingredients? What kinds of things is he allergic to? And what does it matter if he doesn’t eat anything you make anyway?! LOL. What does he do if he doesn’t eat what you serve? At his “mature” age, is he allowed to make something for himself?

    • Sir Son cannot eat anything with preservatives, nuts of any kind, sesame seeds, pork, fish, most fruits (unless cooked). There are lots of things he can eat, but won’t. He goes hungry.

  2. I see that Sir Son has not eaten very much on the last three Tuesdays. What does that boy eat? It must be tempting to make a picky eater be in charge of the meal planning, but you’d might end up with Lucky Charms or something.

    (mmmmm….Lucky Charms….)

    A few months ago, I sat down with my son and told him I was tired of all these dinner conflicts and he needed to come up with 7 dinners that he would eat with no complaining, AND that only one of them could be comprised of his beloved noodles. Took forever. Dadgum kids.

    • The kids go hungry, if they don’t eat what I fix. I refuse to let them be in charge of what we eat. I will fix their favorites once a week or so, but at least one person (other than the parents) will go hungry each night. Look into my eyes and see if I care.

      • Hmmmm…. something in your eyes tells me you really don’t care. LOL It must be hard dealing with so many allergies + pickiness. Poor JM had to choke down a bite of sauerkraut the other day. He would very much like to have a sauerkraut allergy, but no such luck. 😀

  3. When I cook, not so often lately, I do try to make meals that we all like but at times that is difficult. Hubby doesn’t complain unless he feels I’m serving too much of the same thing in a short period of time. The boy is getting to be more like his father in that he’ll at least try things. The girl will go hungry. Since I’m the one cooking it is very rare that I make something I won’t eat – well except for heating up re-fried beans for taco night or the sausage gravy that I make for our quarterly Sunday school breakfast at church.

Leave a Reply

