A Tuesday Meal

My neighbor told me about a new cooking magazine that she really likes and has made several recipes from it.  It is called Clean Eating.  So….I purchased the newest edition and found several recipes I’d like to try.

Last night I tried the Southwestern Meatballs.  Even though, I made this on a Monday, it will go in my Tuesday meal planning.  It was so easy and quick to make.  To make it even quicker for a busy day, just make the meatballs the day before.

Southwestern Meatballs

  • 1 lb ground turkey breast
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup whole-wheat bread crumbs
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup frozen yellow corn
  • 1 15 oz black beans, drained and rinsed well
  • 2 cups diced fresh tomatoes (I didn’t have any, so used mild Rotel)
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 TB lime juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 cu chopped fresh cilantro

In a large bowl, combine turkey, egg whites, bread crumbs, slat and pepper and mix well.  Shape into 16 meatballs, each about the size of a golf ball.

In a large skillet (cooked in my 13″ cast iron skillet. Yeah, BABY!!), heat oil on medium-high, Add meatballs and cook for 3 to 6 minutes, turning frequently, until browned on all sides.  Add corn, beans, tomatoes, broth, lime juice and cumin and mix well.  Reduce heat to medium, partially cover and cook for an additional 3 to 5 minutes, until meatballs are cooked through.  Stir in cilantro and serve.

Verdict:

The husband and I really liked it.  I don’t think we would have liked it as much if we hadn’t added the mild Rotel.  The fresh Cilantro is a must!

The son:  Didn’t eat and is now mad at us.

The Violinist:  Didn’t eat it and is now mad at us.

Joanna:  Didn’t eat it because she was sick.  She had two spoons of chicken broth and went back to bed.  Poor thing. 😦

Rebekah:  Was a total goofball during dinner, but only ate one meatball and one black bean.  She didn’t like the bean/corn mixture and the meatball was “ok”.

Served it with rolls and grapes.

There is enough left0ver for me to have lunch tomorrow.  I’m not going to worry about the kids, because if there was enough for everyone, they wouldn’t eat it anyway.  So, I’m good with that.

7 responses to “A Tuesday Meal

  1. No more peas in a pod?? You did not call your girls Pea #1 and Pea #2.
    The meal sounds pretty good. I may try it. Although 2/3 of my kids won’t eat it either.

  2. Corn should not be mixed into any other food. The end. The meatballs look yummy, though… Where did you get this magazine? Sounds interesting.

  3. That looks kind of good. Since there’s the floating corn topic, I’d have to leave it out. I haven’t bought corn in years. I’ve tried growing it with heirloom seed, but the squirrels get it before it is ripe.

  4. That looks really good! You just need to invite the right people to dinner (me) – then no leftovers! I’d even clean up the dishes for you afterward! 🙂

Leave a Reply

