Biology Classification Worksheet and a new toy

We had our first day of co-op last Tuesday.  Yay!

I have eight students.  Five girls and three boys.  After explaining to them that each will receive their very own specimens to dissect next year, one girl asked, “What if we have gag reflexes!?”  Because I am one of the awesome teachers I answered, “You’ll get over it.”   She’ll thank me later.

The first day was a light day.  One of my students was on a mission trip and I wanted to wait to do the cheek experiment when she was in the class.  So, we went over a few things from the book and played with the microscopes.

Their homework for this week was to classify several animals in Exp. 1.1.   Just like last year, I had them fill out a Classification Worksheet instead of writing a lap report.

Update:  I have had a few people ask me about the Power Point.  I had never intended to share those, because they wouldn’t make any sense to anyone but me and my class.  LOL  However; I will try to work on them and see if I change my mind about sharing.  Stay tuned!

Again this year, I am working with Power Point for some of my presentations.  It is a wonderful thing to have a huge photo on the board of what they are suppose to be looking at under the microscope!  The biggest problem I had when presenting, was constantly showing my backside to the class.  Let me say, that is not a good site!

To solve that problem I demanded told The Husband that I needed a laptop remote.  I waited all summer for one. At the Office Depot Teacher’s Appreciation Day, I received a $10.00 off coupon to use on any purchase.  Score!

With the coupon, I bought this do-dad.

It’s a slick Logitech, R400, computer remote!  It comes with its own little case.  AND get this!  It has a red laser beam built in!  In my awesomeness I can point a red dot on a frog’s spleen or eyeball or guts!  When the students say, “I can’t find the large intestines!”  I can shine a red dot on the larger than life photo of frog guts and say, “This is it.  You’d be able to identify it better if you hadn’t mutilated.” So exciting!

Another future I like: There’s nothing to download to use it, just plug in the USB and off you go!

Now I am not only awesome, but I LOOK smart!

11 responses to “Biology Classification Worksheet and a new toy

  1. I can shine a red dot on the larger than life photo of frog guts and say, “This is it. You’d be able to identify it better if you hadn’t mutilated.”
    hahahhaaha!!! =)

  2. Could you share your Power Point slides? I will be teaching this module this week.

    In Him,

    Helen Gillette

    P.S. I love your website and blog.

    • I’ll have to work on that. They would be disorganized to everyone else. LOL I wasn’t intending to share them because they are mainly photos. I’ll look through them and see what I can do.

      Thank you for your kind words.

  3. I love new gadgets! I’m sure you will look like a “real” teacher now with your laser pointer and remote.

  4. Where do you get your pictures for your powerpoint slides? I love this idea!!

  5. You are very fancy and awesome and completely normal. I am going to send my kids to your class.

  6. Your new toy is just way too cool, Michelle!

  7. Well… You ARE smart. This will make you look AWESOME-ER! (this is why I don’t teach grammar!) Gadgets are the answer to all life’s problems. Also – you are beautiful front and back so…you really don’t need this as much as me! 😉 Hugs!

  8. Are you familiar with the Digital Blue microscope (200X) Would we be able to see cheek cells with this?

Leave a Reply

