Chemistry – I don’t get it!

I made the mistake of telling some moms at our homeschool co-op, that I will not be teaching Biology next year.  I’d like to teach Chemistry.  Why?  Because I am getting tired of digging in frog guts and need something else to do, like making a structural modification devices.

So, I have been doing some reading and exploring all things Chemistry-ie and I have come to this conclusion. I don’t know what I am doing.  There I said it.  The math alone is making my eyeballs fall out one at a time and I am only on Module One in the Apologia Chemistry book!  I’m also working through my daughter’s Saxon Alg. 1 book.  It isn’t helping that much either.  Seriously! Do I really need to do Chemistry?  I need to clear my brain and I need a sign from God.

I am taking a break from the math to look at some Chemistry fun stuff.  Looking doesn’t require thinking.  That’s why your brain gets sucked out of your eyeballs while you watch stupid stuff on T.V.

I already have in my science library the following books I’d like to share with you.

The Disappearing Spoon:  And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements – by Sam Kean – This is a fun book.  I like the behind the scene stories of each of the elements.  I haven’t finished the book, but like it so far.

The Elements: A Visual Exploration of Every Known Atom in the Universe –  by Theodore Gray  This books is awesome.  Has great photos of each of the elements, list some everyday uses, where it is placed on the Periodic Table, and other things I don’t understand like the Electron Ordering Filling.  Say what?

llustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments: All Lab, No Lecture – I haven’t really looked at this, but got it because one of my Twit friends, Melanie at FairlySquare Or Tressa at Tressays were talking about it.  That meant I had to get it.  Besides I ALWAYS add extra excitement to my class and I am sure I can find something in this book.

 FREE Periodic Table of the Chemical Elements  – I have this for my Nook.  It doesn’t do anything, but it does make me look smart.  All I have to do is leave my eReader open to this and people think I’m smart. Or not.

Besides getting some great books, I love watching educational science videos.  As long as they are less than 10 minutes, I’m good.  A short video might be just the thing to get a student to understand a concept.  Works great in Biology and should work in Chemistry too!

After searching around, I found the Periodic Table of Videos.  They look interesting enough.  The professor behind the videos is Martyn Poliakoff (I think).

After watching the first video, I got my sign from God.  I think He is telling me I should go ahead with the Chemistry.

This is Martyn Poliakoff.  I saw this today 9/6/2012

Image

And this was from 12/2010

Image

You can read all about this creepy science teacher here.

A coincidence?    I think not.

I’m going to need a whole lotta help next year!

 

18 responses to “Chemistry – I don’t get it!

  1. You’ll need this table for your class. 🙂
    http://blog.makezine.com/2009/10/30/periodic-table/

  2. You go girl!! If anybody can do it, you can. I have full confidence in you.

  3. Too funny! Totally inspiring though! Wish I were in your class!

  4. I am going to tell you that the Apologia book is very frustrating. Module 2 is one of the toughest in the book. I am not sure why it is placed there. I am using the book with my girl, but I am completely restructuring it in my own order. The spine is there, but there is not near enough practice in things like writing compounds, balancing equations, and just understanding why the periodic table is written the way it is. There needs to be some sort of basic understanding before you hit the math. Maybe I will blog about our Chemistry schedule this year? Chemistry is fun, but I think the book takes a lot it the fun out. Kudos to you for finding some!

    • Tressa, yes please blog about your schedule! I’d like to hear every advice you have on this book, because it is what I am using since I have it. I am already thinking of changing out some of the experiments, but I don’t know to what yet. 🙂

  5. LOL! You are so fabulous! I’d rather deal with physics than chemistry, so that’s what we’re doing this year. But I LOVE Gray’s book; it’s gorgeous. I’ll have to check out The Disappearing Spoon because I am all about entertaining behind-the-scenes stories. Good luck with chemistry! You’ll be great!

  6. All these years and I never knew you had a twin brother!

  7. Wait, you are getting TIRED of digging in frog guts? I am shocked. Maybe all you need is a little lie-down.

  8. Has anyone ever told you that you are the Applie of their eye? You’re going to be a GREAT chemistry teacher!

  9. Pingback: Chemistry (Part 1) « Tressays

  10. Good luck on Chemistry! We enjoyed the challenge! I found a great book that we used as an intro to Chem before we did the Apologia Chem. It is called Friendly Chemistry. http://friendlychemistry.com/
    It really is friendly! It had tons of practice problems. Our only difficulty with it was that the TE only provided the final answer…not all the steps to get to the answer, but the author was great and provided links and PDFs of the problems to help us get the right answers.

  11. I’ve heard of Friendly Chemistry, and was able to glance through the book once. There are games to play w/ the class to help them learn.

  12. beneitaflemmer

    LOL! So funny!!!! You are an inspiring person and an even more inspiring teacher! You amaze me and always make me laugh! Way to go Michelle! God will bless you with every step you take in life and in teaching science!

Leave a Reply

