Green Alien Creatures

Laser Lights are not to be shined into peoples eyes.  Be smart, be careful!

What does a laser light, pond water, and a blank wall have in common?

You use all three to see weird alien creatures!  How cool is that!  Want to know what is in a drop of pond water?  You’ll need, pond water, syringe, two glasses same height, a blank wall, and a green laser pointer. Not red.  Green laser pointers are more powerful than the red ones.  I use the  5mw Astronomy Green Laser Pointer from Amazon.  Click on the photo and it will take you to the webpage where I got it.

Some kind of stand for the laser is a big help, but I didn’t have one.  I now wish I had made something.

Take a syringe and fill it with some pond water.  Suspend the syringe between two glasses, so that the point is hanging down.

The white paper on the wall is where I want to project my image.

Make a drop of water hang from the syringe till just before it wants to drop to the table.   You want it to hang there…forever.

Take your fancy green laser light and shine it through the drop of water.  The drop will magnify the green alien creatures onto your wall.  Well hopefully it will.  This didn’t work too well for me at home.  I really needed the stand.

I took the laser pointer, the syringe, and the pond water to my Biology class.  I did the same thing as above and projected the water onto our whiteboard.  Again, it wasn’t easy, but you’ll get some idea of what it is suppose to look like.

The darker spots is egg yolk.  The smaller round things are some kind of organism.  As you can see it wasn’t that great of a success, but it was still fun.  If you want to see what it really looks like go to Hack A Day – Laser Microscope Projector.  There are two really cool videos to watch.

I’ll be visiting my in-laws this weekend and my MIL has lots of plants around her house.  I intend to swipe some of the water and try this again.  If it is a great success, I’ll post another video.🙂

This goes with our study of the Kingdom Monera in Apologia Biology.

2 responses to “Green Alien Creatures

  1. What is amazing to me is how much stuff is floating around in one little drop of water!! You can particularly see that in the other guys video. WOW! What a neat, simple experiment. Anthony has 3 different colored lasers (one is green) from a science experiment that he did last year so I may show this to the boys.

Leave a Reply

