Big Shoals

So I ask the husband, “Hey, what are we doing for the 4th of July?”  His response, “Go somewhere there are no people.  Like Big Shoals.”   GREAT says I, that’ll give me another notch towards my Trail Walker patch.  More on that later.

We pack our walking sticks, backpacks, camera, lunch, and two out of four kids.  Because two out of four kids prefer indoors than outdoors.   Two parents out of two parents wanted to keep four kids out of four kids, so decided to let two kids out of two kids stay home and not “dispose” of two out of two kids for having bad attitudes.

Two hour drive to Big Shoals State Park, no problem!  I have my knitting and Root Beer.

We had a lovely lunch right by the river.  All by ourselves.  Except for one other large family, but they left us alone.  I’m good with that.

IMG_0854

Off we go on a 1.5 mile hike to the waters edge.  The edge where we could probably put our feet in the water.

IMG_0859

We noticed the water was high and moving very fast.  Decided it would not be a good idea to wade in it this time.  Girls were not happy.

IMG_0860

The walk was beautiful!  It sprinkled some, but mostly it was really nice.  Not too hot.

IMG_0874

At the end of the 1.5 mile hike, more like a stroll, we rested at the water’s edge.  So beautiful.  We did keep our eyeballs open for gators.  The Husband and The Daughter decided to take a rest in the hammock.  I had no idea he had packed that hammock.  LOL  Who does that on a 3 mile hike?

IMG_0880

On the way back to the car, we stopped by The Bat Cave.  It is really cool and you can hear the squeaks of the bats inside.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get a good picture of them.

IMG_0881

I did get a nice picture of their poo.  Bats drop a lot of poo. I have to admit, it was gross.

IMG_0882

Afterwards we went home and did nothing.  Didn’t even go watch fireworks.  So un-American!

One response to “Big Shoals

  1. Nice to see you blogging again. It looks like a really nice hike. I am looking forward to our hiking vacation next week. We also will be leaving 2 out of 3 children home that prefer the indoors to the outdoors because we don’t want to listen to the hassles. And I want to enjoy myself. so yea. Awesome parent.

Leave a Reply

