UP

For my Christmas present last year, Sir Husband bought two tickets for a hot air balloon ride.  It was the only thing on my bucket list.

After two cancellations, we finally had a go.  The timing was perfect, since it landed right at our 30th wedding anniversary! Yay us!  We camped at Lake Louisa State Park in Clermont Florida.  Four nights with no kids.  Yay us!

We left the camp ground at 4:45am to arrive at the pick-up location on time.  By 6:00am we were at the left-off location.

Baskets were taken off the trailers, balloons were rolled out, and things started getting interesting.

IMG_1226

After huge fans inflated the balloons, burners were started to get the air heated.  We all know hot air rises.  It was awesome.

IMG_1265

The picture below was taken during the ride.  You can’t see it here, but there is a red cord going from the basket to the circle at the top of the balloon.  That cord opens the top to allow the hot air out.  That was done once we were on land to deflate the balloon.  No one touches red cord while in flight.  :)

IMG_1269

Waiting for take off.

IMG_1249

The sunrise was beautiful as we rose into the air.

IMG_1289

Shortly into our flight we started to glide over a lake.  The balloon in the photo below was one of four that went up.  This balloon is the largest in the U.S. and can hold 24 people, plus pilot.  We were on one that could hold 16 passengers.

IMG_1291

It was so quiet and peaceful.  It was an amazing place to see God’s creation.

As we glided over the lake, we saw our reflection.  The side of our basket is at the bottom of the photo.  The balloon you see is the carrying our basket and you can see the bottom.  If you look very closely, you can see me hanging over the side taking this photo.

IMG_1302

I took a lot of pictures between the times I stopped and reflected.  More photos will be posted later this week; hopefully by Tuesday.

I highly recommend this adventure.  Sir Husband has already agreed to another ride, but next time I am taking one of my girls.

Now that I have crossed off the only think on my Bucket List, I’ll have to find another adventure.  Zip Line above alligators perhaps?

4 responses to “UP

  1. That’s a great gift to share with your beloved and such a way to admire God’s handiwork.

  2. Really cool, Michelle! I am still waiting to jump out of an airplane with my honey for his 50th birthday present. Hopefully sometime in September that will actually happen. I’ve been up in a hot air balloon years and years ago but we only went up while still attached to a tether. Not that exciting.

  3. Awesome.

  4. What an awesome adventure! (I am too chicken! I like my feet on the ground at all times….haha!)

Leave a Reply

