Fountain of Youth

One of the really great reasons to homeschool in Florida is all the history places to visit. One of the worst reasons to be a student in Florida is the history is soooo stinking long!   To encourage the love of this long history in kids, three moms shoved their kids in a boat van and headed on down to The Oldest City.

After the experienced navigation from my shipmate and myself….

We spotted the oldest European establishment, the Fountain of Youth, and landed.

In 1513, Ponce de Leon landed in what he called “La Florida” and claimed it for the Spanish King.

Ponce de Leon was looking for The Fountain of Youth.  You too, can find this Fountain of Youth and taste its water.  Actually it is just spring water.  We get the same water from our faucet. That’s why I am so young and beautiful.  Don’t hate me for it.

The water this Spaniard is handing out was drawn from the Fountain of Youth well.

After drinking in the water, we headed on down to the inlet.

In 1564, the Spanish Explorer Pedro Menendez de Aviles,  established the first Europeon Settlement in the United States of America.   We actually walked over where the establishment use to be.  It was so awesome!  The kids didn’t get the awesomeness, but neither did I at their age.

As we walked, Erin that’s her below with three of her gazillion six kids, forced us to tag along with a school group.  She’s pretty good at getting people to talk to us, so it was a good thing we tagged along.

Anyhoo, as we tagged along with the school group, we got to hear more about the history of this place.  I’ll have to put some of it in different posts.  Too much to mention here.

We get down to the inlet and learned that the Spanish were upset that France was building colonies in Florida.  Pedro Menendez de Aviles was sent to drive out the French.  You can learn all about that here.

After our history lesson, we were entertained with the firing of a canon, which was used to  protect the Spanish establishment from the French and any other intruders.

Stay tuned for more Florida history!

Just don’t mention my new friend above. ok?

9 responses to “Fountain of Youth

  1. Send me some of that spring water! =)

  2. Wow…your friend must be AMAZING, if you have so MANY more posts to share…lots of history was learned that day!! :O)

  3. Wow. Even though you are 50, you don’t look a day over 50. That fountain of youth must be the reason that in your 50 long years, you have stayed so young and vibrant, not like a normal 50 year old. I wish more 50 year old were like you. When I turn 50, can I come to drink the water from the fountain of youth so I look as good as you when I am 50. Oh, did I mention that I think you look great for a 50 year old?

  4. Great photos!!! Thanks for sharing them with us…I’m so hoping that I get to visit Jas in December so that I can see some new cites….I’m tired of the history up here 😉

  5. Fun times! I miss going on field trips like that. 🙂

  6. I need to talk to the Bro about this new friend of yours …

    Hey! Did you feel different when you walked across the historic plot of land?
    And why don’t you have a cool hat like the cannon guy?

  7. What a fun trip! We never made it there while we were there. You are making me miss Florida something fierce lately. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

