Module 7 – Cellular Reproduction and DNA

I believe my class is ready for Christmas break.  The last few Tuesdays, the students have been lethargic.  I thought for sure the extraction of pea DNA would wake them up.  Nope.

It is always a good idea to practice your experiments before going into the classroom.   Rule #1: If it doesn’t work at home, it will not work in the classroom.  Yeah, it really doesn’t.

What you will need:

  • A good blender
  • Toothpicks (long wooden skewers work best)
  • Clear liquid soap  (Dawn works best and we used the blue one)
  • Salt
  • Water
  • Strainer
  • Glass jar
  • Meat tenderizer
  • Rubbing alcohol  (cold)

2014-11-17 001

I did this experiment at my home the night before co-op.  I used Sam’s Club antibacterial hand soap with light moisturizers.  It didn’t work, people.  It didn’t even work the next day at co-op.  See Rule #1 above.

The next week, we begin again.  We follow the directions and whirl some peas around.

2014-12-01 007

Then strain the liquid out using a tea strainer.

2014-12-01 008

Add the soap. This time I used the blue DAWN liquid dish soap.  The experiment said to use clear, but I didn’t have any.  We had no problem with the blue soap.

A coffee stick was used to stir.  A wooden skewer works so much better.

2014-12-01 009

After adding cold Rubbing Alcohol (I put it in the refrigerator), there is DNA!  Woo-hoo.  Students did not care. LOL

2014-12-01 015

The white stringy stuff is the DNA.  Looks like nose goo.  Lovely.

2014-12-01 013

If you use a long wooden skewer, the DNA will stick to it and you’ll be able to bring the DNA out of the jar for a closer look.

2014-12-01 012

Please have a look at my post from 2009, DNA from Peas!    I don’t know how we did it, but this is the best example of this experiment.

I am sorry for not keeping up with what is going on in Biology.  This week I have several post scheduled to get us caught up, then we break for Christmas.

Enjoy!

One response to “Module 7 – Cellular Reproduction and DNA

  1. We used clear, liquid, hand soap, but I don’t remember what kind or brand. Good to know that the blue Dawn works! =)

Leave a Reply

