I’ve done it again.

It is that time of year when the Biology class begins dissecting.  It’s what the Biology class lives for.  Well, some anyway.  I love to see their excitement and discuss.  It’s what I live for.

The last two years I have made the awesome Dissected Frog Cake.  This year I did something different.  I made the Dissected Perch Cake!  Oh yeah, my students are going to look at me with awe.

This cake was made just as the frog, with Rice Krispie insides and covered in Fondant.  I get the Fondant at Hobby Lobby with a 40% off coupon.  Don’t want to pay full price, because everyone throws it away.

So here is the covered photo.

I thought about having the students dissect the cake, but was afraid the fondant will  be stuck to the guts inside. So, decided to go ahead and peel back the skin.

The black wiggly thing in the mouth is suppose to be a worm on a hook.  It is obvious I lack in the cake decorating department.

Now I know all of you are wondering just what is in a Perch. Well, here is a labeled picture for you.

Just in case you don’t know already, a Perch does not have these far-out colors for guts.  It is completely consumable.

Make one for your class and report back to me.  🙂

 

9 responses to “I’ve done it again.

  1. That is awesome!

  2. That’s way too cool, Michelle. lol

  3. Love it! Love the color. =)
    And glad you labeled it, especially the eye. I had trouble with that one. lol. =)
    I shall go find my biology post from last year and link to this. Excellent. =)

  4. this is the coolest thing ever 🙂

  5. Thanks everyone! It was fun to do something different this year. 🙂

  6. That is one cool cake. You are one cool teacher.

  7. Ha Ha! Oh so appetizing! 🙂 You are coolest teacher! Glad to see you are still having so much fun with Biology!

  8. volleyball rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    that is a realy coooooooooooooooool cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you seem like a rrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy fun teacher!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Pingback: Biology 101 Series, Unit Three and Four - Layered Soul Homeschool

Leave a comment