A Fun Cell Activity

Felt Animal Cell Pattern is now available on my Etsy Shop.  Appliejuice

We are still in Module 6 – The Cell in the Apologia Biology textbook.  This Module covers a lot and the students tend to get a glazed look over the lessons.

I got tired of the students being in lah-lah land, so I decided to do something a little different.  I needed them to wake up and physically participate.  The night before my class, I made a huge cell out of felt material.

As you can see it is not to scale.  LOL   I just cut out the pieces free hand.  I was going to draw out a pattern for each piece, but my scanner isn’t working.

Materials:

  • One yard of yellow felt:  Plasma Membrane
  • One yard of blue:  Cytoplasm
  • Purple:  Nucleus
  • Hot pink:  Nucleolus
  • Orange: Mitochondria
  • White: Endoplasmic Reticulum
  • Yellow w/lines:  Centrioles
  • Small round yellow:  Lysosome
  • Small round blue:  Vacuole
  • Lime green:  Golgi Body
  • Round red fuzz balls:   Ribosomes

Golgi Body

Mitochondria, Endoplasmic Reticulum, Ribosomes, and Centrioles

The idea behind this was to get the students up and involved in something.  I placed each piece in plastic bags and wrote the name of the organelle on the front.   Each student picked a bag from a larger bag, so they did not know what they were getting.   I heard groans at this point. lol

I gave them 5 or 10 minutes to hunt down information on their organelle before preceding with this activity.

I placed down the Plasma Membrane and the Cytoplasm, then asked their function.  Once that was over, each student was to come up and place their organelle in the proper place and tell its function.

I added any extra information they had missed.   My cheat-sheet can be found here. I have added the extra, not found in the textbook, in red on the cheat-sheet.

The students said it was kind of fun and interesting.

Well, almost everyone thought it was interesting.  LOL

4 responses to “A Fun Cell Activity

  1. That is a really great idea. I’m sure it helped them remember facts better than just sitting there listening to you ramble on :).

  2. I like this! We had done smaller versions before, but this is something all the kids can participate in at once. =)

  3. Thanks for the inspiration. I used it for our Anatomy and Physiology project. Linking to this post.

  4. I am STILL using our model made almost 7 years ago I think! I need to print the cheat sheet but it won’t open. Is it still an accurate link? Thank you!

Leave a comment