Our Daily Bread

This is the recipe that we have started using for our daily bread.  My girls have it toasted every morning with butter, honey and cinnamon.  Sometimes I will make one loaf into croutons.  The ends of the loaves, if not eaten, are saved in the freezer to be made into bread crumbs later.  🙂  This recipe makes 5 loaves (about 1 ½ pounds each) and comes from The Bread Beckers Recipe Collection.  I make only one change and that is to add powdered milk.   Two of the loaves are usually frozen.  To do that I wrap the cooled loaf in paper towel, wrap in plastic and then put in a zip-lock bag.  I thaw it that way on the counter over night. The paper towel helps to keep it from getting gooey on the top.

Five Loaf Recipe

  • 5 cups hot water
  • 1 ¼ cups olive oil
  • ¾ cups honey
  • 2 ½ TB yeast
  • 12 – 13 cups freshly milled winter white wheat
  • 5 tsp salt
  • 1 TB Lecithin
  • 1 TB gluten
  • 2/3 cup of powdered milk

Combine water, oil, and honey.  Add 8 cups of flour, powdered milk, yeast, salt, lecithin, and gluten.  Mix thoroughly.  Add the remaining flour and knead until smooth and elastic, about 10 minutes).  Let rise until double.  Shape into loaves and let rise until double.  Bake at 350° for about 30 minutes.

14 responses to “Our Daily Bread

  1. You have my address, right???

  2. < ![CDATA[You have my address, right???]]>

  3. Yes, but it may be very moldy by the time you got it. LOL

  4. < ![CDATA[Yes, but it may be very moldy by the time you got it. LOL]]>

  5. It looks good!

    What is lecithin?

  6. < ![CDATA[It looks good! What is lecithin?]]>

  7. Do you have to use the flour the way it states – that type – or would store bought flour work?

    What is “Lecithin”?

    The bread looks yummy!

    When I do get to Florida to visit all my friends I think that I’ll just be eating instead of going on any of the amusement rides. 😆

  8. < ![CDATA[Do you have to use the flour the way it states - that type - or would store bought flour work? What is "Lecithin"? The bread looks yummy! When I do get to Florida to visit all my friends I think that I'll just be eating instead of going on any of the amusement rides. :lol:]]>

  9. Hiya Miss Appliejuice. :mrgreen:

    We want to try this recipe. 😀 I’ve been making homemade bread since 2002. But, I’ve only made it about once every few months because it takes so long. Your recipe here doesn’t take nearly as long – waHOO! We have everything except for the lecithin and powdered milk. I saw in the original recipe that those things are optional. Can you please tell me what the lecithin is for? 🙂

    Also, I want to grind my own wheat soon. Could you please tell me where you purchased your mill and also where you buy your winter white wheat? I have organic wheat from Wild Oats now. No clue whether it’s autumn green or winter white or summer purple. 😆

    Thanks! 😀

    P.S. Come look at me blog, matey. :mrgreen:

  10. < ![CDATA[Hiya Miss Appliejuice. :mrgreen: We want to try this recipe. :D I've been making homemade bread since 2002. But, I've only made it about once every few months because it takes so long. Your recipe here doesn't take nearly as long - waHOO! We have everything except for the lecithin and powdered milk. I saw in the original recipe that those things are optional. Can you please tell me what the lecithin is for? 🙂

    Also, I want to grind my own wheat soon. Could you please tell me where you purchased your mill and also where you buy your winter white wheat? I have organic wheat from Wild Oats now. No clue whether it’s autumn green or winter white or summer purple. 😆

    Thanks! 😀

    P.S. Come look at me blog, matey. :mrgreen:]]>

  11. Sounds yummy.

  12. < ![CDATA[Sounds yummy.]]>

  13. Your bread looks good! I can tell that you know what you are doing. 😀

  14. < ![CDATA[Your bread looks good! I can tell that you know what you are doing. :D]]>

Leave a Reply

